You are a Worthless Criminal…Now Please Buy From Us
I find it amazing when in this day and age with so much competition, a site can actually go out of its way to try to block a sale. I am designing some new sites with OSCommerce and I found a template site that was actually pretty good. If I remember them right, I found them by clicking their AdWords ad so that told me they were looking for my business. So I settled in, spent a while finding that perfect template for a good starting point and once I had, placed an order for it. It was only $175 so I slapped it on my Credit Card.
Now I was expecting to get to work today with it but low and behold, they want to verify the sale. No problem even though I’m a bit annoyed they never mentioned this before but none the less I went on their Live Chat and talked to a “Billing Representative”. “Where do you live?” was the first quick fire question to which I promptly answered Ireland. I imagine they thought I said Iran or another country in the Axis of Evil because immediatly I was told I needed to fax proof of identity. They actually wanted me to fax documentation that could be used to fake my identity to complete strangers! I refused and right away they said I couldn’t order from them. I had to actually ask for a refund as it wasn’t offered. On top of that I won’t see my hopefully refunded money for 2-3 days.
We are www.hypertemplates.com, our pleasure wasting your time
Comment by stephen weir
Posted on April 12, 2006 at 1:34 pm
You tell em Jason. I would make that link to their site non live. You wouldn’t want to help their rankings lol
Comment by Jason
Posted on April 12, 2006 at 2:18 pm
After a bit of looking around, I see they are just an affiliate of Template Monster and its Template Monster that have this policy…Whatever happened to the personal touch. If anyone knows a good template site that isn’t an affiliate, feel free to shoot me a line at info@yfs1.com
Comment by SEOJunkie
Posted on April 16, 2006 at 6:34 am
Jason, what about 4Templates.com?
…Off topic
Well, your blog should use http://managedtasks.com/wpthemes/blog/index.php?wptheme=ForumED WP theme as it is a forum junkie’s blog… LOLz
Comment by giil
Posted on May 16, 2006 at 1:41 pm
I am running through the same problems but this time they are asking for a photocopy of my credit cart !!!!!
Comment by Jason
Posted on May 16, 2006 at 1:47 pm
Yes, that happened to me also (I think I wrote a Part II) Make sure to blank out some of the numbers if you decide to do that
Although they sent some fixes…The template I ended up getting from them had quite a few bugs so make sure to test it.
Comment by Motorcycle Fairings
Posted on September 4, 2008 at 3:00 pm
It is safe to just send a copy of your credit card to whoever ask for it? I’m sorry but I don’t think so.